At A Crossroad

So far this week has proved a significant stretch of my journey. Last Saturday I had the opportunity to watch the filming of a talk which Glyn Dewis gives to audiences entitled “Successful Shoots Guaranteed”. Here is a link to a teaser video he posted.
http://glyndewis.com/preview-successful-shoots-guaranteed/

On Wednesday night he spoke at my camera club. I had been involved in organising the event which proved a great success. I have been silently following Glyn’s work and techniques for about a year. If you look through his work http://500px.com/GlynDewis you will see has an eye for drama. Fundamentally he regards himself as Retoucher / Photographer in that order. He has really stirred something within my creative core and I am excited about where this next turn is going to take me. Yes the thoughts of are my retouching skills good enough, can I cope with the lighting requirements race through my head. Mr Self Doubt is perched on my shoulder at the moment.

To date the biggest influence on photography has been Doug Chinnery http://www.s375595000.websitehome.co.uk/ Doug has taught me camera craft and awakened the creative side of me and the way I see the world through my photography. Like Glyn Dewis Doug is a great communicator and educator. The way they teach suits the way I absorb knowledge.

Everything seems to be coming together as this week progresses. I finally managed to get a flash trigger / receiver set for my Sony A77 that is not a cheap e bay purchase with erratic performance built in. That has been a frustrating experience in its self. Then I picked up via Social Media that Zack Arias launches his reworked his OneLight DVD, which will be available from 31st March. Another great communicator / educator.

Tomorrow I attend “Photoshop Mastery ” workshop run by Glyn Dewis, which is a wonderful birthday present. My head is full of bonkers ideas and Mr Self Doubt periodically says “will you be able to cope?”. But I think this is what I have been looking for to take me on. Skills I learn here will cross over and influence my other photography and vice versa. All in all I am buzzing at the moment. Last Monday I reached the grand old age of 67 or maybe it should be the grand young age as there is a lot of life in me still and zest to learn and create.

This entry was posted in Photo workshops, Photography and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment