Trials of a Photographer on Holiday Part 2

Trials of a Photographer on Holiday

Tucepi, Croatia 13th Sept 2012

This blog was originally posted on my camera club’s ,Kingsclere Photo Club, website.

The Tip of the Day is don’t post process by the swimming pool using a back lit screen. The end result is an image ready to delete!

I have set myself a project within my holiday photo project. It’s working title is “Ephemeral Shadows”. In reality the idea of this project began during my trip to India. The hotel we are staying was originally a castle,small one I hasten to add, built in1753. There is a central courtyard which has shadows cast through the day in different , obviously, positions the sun travels its westward arc. Each image will be square format and cadidates for inclusion build as each day passes with me shooting undeterred by other residents regarding me as an individual with “problems”.

A couple of days have passes and the issue of kit has raised it head. I have opted to to use just my 70-300mm lens on my Sony. In reality i am finding myself shooting a higher percentage of shots on my Canon S95 because a wider angle has been needed to deal with a given composition. This conundrum is always a challenge for me but the consolation is there is no simple solution.

The “Emphemeral Shadows” project is beginning to dominate my shooting even away from the hotel. I like it as my eyes are constantly seeking a shot amongst the shadows as opposed to being guilty of not seeing the patterns and shapes. The one below was made inside the hotel room as the sun began to set.

I quickly realised that Croatians have a sense of humour and don’t seem to take themselves to seriously. This is typified by the image below I spotted in a shop. Does the empty socket wrapped round the metal railings mean these toys are on death row?I have written this blog a bit at a time as the days have passed. It is noticeable how much my eyes are seeing now almost a week into the holiday. This makes me think of giving consideration to a 365 day project next year.

Grey overcast day today, Thursday, giving me a chance to play with long exposure, well 30 seconds worth as remote release is needed for Bulb mode. This has proved a little frustrating trying to cope with 30 second exposure avoiding humans and animals wandering into the shot in the final few moments!

Inevitably there also has to be a bit of blur along the way which I managed to do yesterday on a boat down the River Norin. The boat was small meaning travelling very close to the surface and it enabled me to achieve my first blur shot using the Canon S95.

As days go by I am keeping my eyes open for “Lost in translation” image. Probably more of that another time. Until the next time.

Ray.

This entry was posted in Photography, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment