Trials of a Photographer on Holiday Part 4

This blog was origianlly written for Kingsclere Photo Club and posted on their website direct from Tucepi.

Well the two weeks have flown by and tomorrow we fly home. It has reached its conclusion with a bang, literally. A dramatic thunder storm around 4.00am this morning accompanied by high winds and rains seemed nature’s way of reminding us it was time to prepare for Basingstoke!

The last few days of the holiday produced the most fun with my camera. I discovered an abandoned and wrecked hotel about 10 minutes from my lodgings. This has provided the opportunity to explore and photograph using my newly enhanced skills with a flash gun. It is fair to say I have used my flash gun more times over the past few days than in the five years since it was purchased.

After a sluggish start I ended my time here on a photographic roll. The actual success in terms of photography will be decided when my images have been processed. But I have had a lot of fun.
I will return with around 500 plus images and if I can get 30 keepers after processing it will have been a successful trip. My flash skills have improved, without doubt, by using it particularly in the latter days of the holiday. It is something that will be important to take it further. To this end I have decided to start 365 project where by a flash image is made every day. This will, hopefully, avoid me losing the momentum gained over the past two weeks plus, with luck enhance my skill base.

The range of images shot has been very varied as my aim was to push the boundaries and get out of my comfort zone.
I have images for HDR processing, some for infrared conversion, black and white, ICM, abstracts, landscapes, candid/street plus,as mentioned, previously flash.

Writing this blog has made me concentrate on my photographic objectives and has helped me develop photographically as a result. But in saying that I write with no confidence that people are reading my musings, however, it makes me think and articulate my thoughts on photography
and it enables any misconceptions on my part to be corrected by writing a comment.

As it is my final day here in Tucepi I think it is apt to finish with a cliche sunset image.

This is the final posting written live in Tucepi. Next will be a retrospective look at the two weeks in the cold light of a wet UK.

 

This entry was posted in blog, Photography, Travel and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment