Knowledge is Power

Knowledge is power is an attitude then really irritated me in my working life. Those early days of Word and Excel with some people grasping it quicker than others. You ask a question and the answer you got was ” Don’t you know that?”, inferring you are lesser being possibly verging on having learning difficulties.

Where does this connect with photography? Well to my mind it is a case of knowledge being more power to your elbow with photography. Over the past six months I have come to appreciate that it is not the size of your equipment that contributes to  making wonderful images, it is your ability as a photographer. The more aspects you grasp and understand fully the better photographer you will become.

Attending my weekly photography club I have seen beautiful images made from a compact camera in the hands of a good photographer. I have mentioned before in my early years of learning photography there was a virtual obsession in getting to grips with Photoshop. I now realise the more I can get right in camera the less there is a need for Photoshop. Now I am working to understand light and composition in more depth.

For my birthday last month I was given “Joe Cornish A Photographer at Work” by Eddie Ephraums

This explores Joe Cornish’s philosophy and work flow in the field. It is an excellent insight into the way a pro photographer works. There are a number of insights that can be applied to my photography.

I have created check lists of notes for working in the field to enable me to refer on a shoot, until they are drilled indeliby on my memory. This I do by converting the lists to PDF files and saving them to my E Reader.

Recently I came across a podcast called “Photography Tips from the Top Floor”. It is posted regularly and is available via I Tunes. there are useful tips and questions from amateur photographers across the world.

In saying everything above I do realise you will never know all there is to know about photography.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment