Finding my way

It has been some weeks since my last post. There is not a real explaination other than over the past few months or so my photographic journey has gone off at a tangent.This new direction is due to a bluebell workshop attended at the beginning of May. It was headed by Doug Chinnery and Antony Spnecer, who won last year’s Landscape Photographer of the Year.

They are both excellent tutors and my photographica confidence grew as a result of the day. Albeit to be honest it was only half a day. After lunch I managed to become detached from the rest of the group. Despite my attempts to to reconnect with the group, not help by a dead mobile, the only option was to return home.

Over the past six months I have been in awe of Doug Chinnery’s creativity ( check him out at http://www.flickr.com/photos/dougchinnery/). On the workshop I made this blur image.

The compliment subsequently received from Doug made me stand, photographically, a foot taller. A couple of weeks later I made this image.

This image has generated a lot of positive comments and further built my photographic confidence. The key thing about both these images they were made in camera. Post processing was basically developing the RAW image.

Since then I have purchased a pinhole adaptor for my Sony digital camera. At the moment it is a case of feeling my way with it and will post images once the results please me.

The year of my retirement saw me attend a twenty week basic photogrpahy skills course. This was all on film and everything had to be done manually. The film developed by me and hand printed in the dark room. I enjoyed the experience of shooting black and white film. After it ended digital photography proved more instant and, basically, cheaper. In fact there was a partly finished roll of film in my Canon film DSLR. Recently, inspired by Doug Chinnery, I took the remaining shots and now await the negatives from the processed film. These will be processed through my new digital negative scanner.

My initial testing of how the scaneer works was carried out using negatives of shots taken during the course three years ago. Below are a couple them. Both were made in Torquay during February 2008. Not the world’s greatest images but I’m pleased with the results through the scanner.

My confidence growing has helped me find a direction of my own in terms of photography. I love the creative in camera techniques and now find that Photoshop is a minor element of my work.

Until the next time and thanks for taking the time to read this blog. My images can be seen at http://www.flickr.com/photos/fidsworld/

Please feel free to comment withe rhere or on FlickR

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment